Rummage Sale – Invitation To Participate

The Greater Hansville Annual Rummage Sale 2018 needs volunteers in all aspects of making this important event actually happen.  Please look below to find ways that you can help. The annual sale at Buck Lake Park will be held on August 11, and August 12, 2018. Preparations and cleanup activities will span the dates from August 1 through August 15. Helpers, new and experienced, are invited to help make the Rummage Sale successful. Opportunity for each day is listed below. Contact us and or just show up!

The following is a detailed list of activities by date, with starred (*) items having County involvement or scheduling:

Tuesday July 31

Move handicap parking signs

Main hall setup tables, store piano TV and hangers

Sweep annex, add skirting around tables

Remove setup items from annex overhead

Wednesday Aug 1

Move dumpsters * (County handles this task)

Use leaf blower to clean dumpster area

Bring tents to Community Center

Start tent setup involving north half of parking lot

        Begin evening security (teams of 2 persons watch the park until dusk when the gates are locked)

Thursday Aug 2

Set up outside tables and peg board

Finish tent setup

       Bring up bins and shelves from Boathouse

All Department representatives on site to help direct set up

Put up plastic fencing in Garden area

Friday Aug 3

Bring up bins and furniture from boathouse

Continue department setup ( Approx. 30 helpers each day through Aug 11)

Begin locking park gates during hours of darkness*

(2 people stay on site until dusk when lockup occurs)

Saturday Aug 4

Bring up bins and furniture from boathouse

Departments organize, display and price

Security team and lock gates

Sunday Aug 5

Optional work day

Security/lock gates

Monday Aug 6

Departments organize, display and price

Security/lock gates

Tuesday Aug 7

Departments organize, display and price

Security/lock gates

Wednesday Aug 8

Departments organize, display and price

Security/lock gates

Thursday Aug 9

Departments finish up

Security/lock gates

Friday Aug 10

Reserve picnic shelter for lunch* (County notified)

Removal of bollard and unlock gate from parking lot to ball field* (County activity)

       Prepare parking field

Empty bins taken to boathouse

RandyKan delivered — mark site

Security/lock gates

Saturday Aug 11

Reserve picnic shelter and ball field* (Parking Crew # )

Volunteers are needed (in shifts) between 8 am and 4 pm (need 35 – 40 helpers)

        Security/lock gates

Sunday Aug 12

Reserve picnic shelter and ball field* (Parking Crew # )

Sale activities are from 9 am until 1 pm.

Volunteers are needed (in shifts) between 8 am and 1 pm (need 35 – 40 helpers)

        Last night of Security and locking gates*

Monday Aug 13

Begin tent take down, depending on weather conditions (need 20 – 25 helpers)

        Put away tables and shelves

Big dumpster arrives

        RandyKan picked up

Tuesday Aug 14

Continue clean up & fill dumpsters (Approx. 30 helpers)

Wed Aug 15

Relocate dumpsters* (County handles this activity)

Please contact Connie Gordon at 360-271-6166 with any questions or concerns.